Let’s have our students speak Spanish together! Collaborate via Flipgrid

Let's have our students speak Spanish together

I have really been enjoying incorporating Flipgrid into my classes.  In the back of my mind, I have been wanting to set up my classroom with other classes.  But, it keeps getting pushed back on my to do list.  Then, Melanie sent out a tweet to connect with her classes!  We set up a grid for level 5, and I wanted to do the same thing for my other levels, too.

I sent out a tweet thinking that I would get a few responses, but I kept getting more and more responses.  I thought that I could do something similar to Laura and set up some Flipgrids that would be a bit more universal.  Everyone can participate- the more the merrier!  I want to keep the topics a bit universal and conversational.  I hope that each topic will be universal enough that it is part of your curriculum already.  I will add a new topic to the same grid every two weeks.  I hope that the two week timeline will give students enough time to record AND respond to one another.  They can have mini conversations on each topic and get to know one another!  (All while practicing their interpersonal skills!)

I have an account, so all students can add their thoughts to my Flipgrid!  One of the best things about Flipgrid is that students don’t need an account.  You can also see your students responses on the grid.  To start this week, students can introduce themselves!  To create a flip video, it typically takes my students 5-10 minutes.  Therefore, you can fit this into a regular day.  I have also assigned it for homework.

Here is my grid for level 1.

Here is my grid for level 2.

For level 2, my students will make their first flips on Monday.  For level 1, my students will make their first flips on Wednesday.  Feel free to add to them before that!  If you haven’t used Flipgrid before, your students can just push the big green plus button on each topic to start a new video!

flipgrid

Once there is a video, students can reply to the video by pushing the button to the right that says “add reply to…”  Let’s get started!  Share one of these grids this week to connect our students!  If you have any questions or suggestions- let me know!

ps: If you are reading this now, we are on our second round of conversations!  You can find the links here.

Edited to add: If you want to see the former Flipgrids, you can use the grid password Spanish1 for the level 1 grid and Spanish2 for level 2.  A new feature is that all grids must have passwords.  Also, if you want to learn more about Flipgrid and how it works, check out my tutorial.

9 thoughts on “Let’s have our students speak Spanish together! Collaborate via Flipgrid

  1. This sounds cool. I keep seeing Flipgrid being mentioned a lot now and I haven’t spent any time really reading about it and understanding how to use it, but this sounds like a great idea. I hope to follow up on this. Thanks for sharing this idea.

  2. This looks like so much fun! We have exams this week, and our new classes start next Monday. Soooo…we will probably miss out on this round, unless you don’t mind my Spanish 1 students posting during their 1st week of class. We could have 3 days of class, and then post on Thurs/Fri of next week…?? I will only have Spanish 1 students, and they are brand new, so if you would rather it not be so soon, I’m totally fine with that. 🙂 I’ve never used Flipgrid (or much of anything for that matter). We are a low income district, and the only technology we have is my teacher computer, but about 1/2 of them have cell phones. My name on Twitter is @tarafarah7, which is how I found this in the first place…fyi. Think about it and let me know what you feel is best. I’m our only language teacher (making face-to-face collaboration non-existent for me), so I may need a little help if we get stuck on something. I just want my kids to be able to connect somehow to other classes (even just once), but no technology in the classroom makes it so HARD! When you mentioned they do not need accounts to post, I thought this might be a good possibility. Thanks so much! Maybe I’ll hear from you soon. 🙂

    1. Hi! Thanks so much for reaching out to me! You could have your students try to comment, or they could also listen to the videos. The app is really easy to use, but I am sure you have to be cognizant of their “minutes.” Let me know if you get stuck, and I would be happy to help! You can leave a message here or DM me on Twitter. I hope that students form connections, but I also hope that a teacher can jump in later, too. You could also try it as a station rotation if you only have one computer. Students can respond in groups- it doesn’t have to be individual if you aren’t 1:1. Let me know how it goes!

Leave a comment