30 ideas to use while teaching novels

Recently I have been visiting my previous posts that still have relevant materials and updating them! This post was from 2018! I still do many of these activities, but I have found some new ones. I also eliminated any of the activities that I currently do not use. At the end, I put together a little outline of how I would structure a chapter earlier in the book and later in the book.

Last year, I made the switch from using novels in addition to the textbook to just using novels without a textbook.  I would add if you are interested in incorporating a novel into your textbook curriculum, I have found a few places that work.  For levels 2 and up, you can use an easier novel at the beginning of the year for a review.  For all levels, you can use a novel at the end to wrap up the year.  I also like to use a novel in December because it is a shorter month with winter vacation at the end.  You can envision it as a mini-mester.

Although I have presented about how I use novels including activities that I enjoy, I haven’t blogged about it here in detail.  This is also a compilation of some of my other posts, so I hope that you (and I!) can save this as a reference.

  • Ahead of reading the chapter, I write out 5-6 sentences about what will happen in the next chapter.  Students then predict if the sentence is true or false.  Then, you can have the class vote for which sentences they think are true and which ones are false.  As they read, they are checking to verify their answers.  I have tried this as an adult and it was extremely engaging!  (Medium prep: all levels). 
  • To change the previous activity to a lower prep activity, have students make the suggestions and predictions.  They can complete this in small groups then, students can indicate what they think is true or false from the predictions as a class.  
  • To introduce culture in the book, I like to find pictures from Instagram from the country featured to discuss in class.  As a class we discuss what we see and make predictions based on the picture.  We can also look at the short caption (which is likely to be comprehensible for most levels) and the hashtags.  You could also put two similar pictures next to each other and compare them.  Finally, if the pictures contain any key words from the reading, you can label them to introduce them as well.  (Low prep: all levels)
  • Start with a dictation.  Find 3-4 sentences in the upcoming chapter and read them aloud.  Students record down the sentences as they hear them.  This is when I encourage students to focus on both spelling and accents.  At the end, I project the sentences (or you can write them on the board yourself), and students correct their own sentences.  After this activity, have students translate the sentences.  You can pick sentences that may be difficult, so students already understand them in the text.  (Low prep: all levels)
  • To review and introduce vocabulary before the chapter or the novel, I like to import my Quizlet sets into PearDeck vocabulary.  Students practice writing sentences with the vocabulary or drawing a picture of the vocabulary as they work with a partner.  Then at the end, everyone votes on which sentences and drawings fit and which ones do not. We also love Blooket and GimKit as quick ways to review vocabulary.  (Low prep: all levels)
  • Another way to review vocabulary before reading is to review key phrases through PQA or personalized questions and answers.  You can use either the vocabulary or upcoming topics in the chapter to ask students questions about their lives.  For example, before La Calaca Alegre we discussed nightmares and types of nightmares.  Since many of my students were juniors and seniors, we could discuss car accidents before Frida’s accident.  Variation: You can turn these questions into quiz-quiz-trade. I like this for my younger students and for easier questions. (Low prep: all levels)
  • One of my new favorite ideas last year came from Amy Lenord when she was discussing creating creators called Whiteboard Splash.  You could do this post or pre reading.  In this activity, I would give students key words from an upcoming chapter to use in a sentence.  Or I would give them a personal question that would connect to the chapter.  Students would record their answers on individual whiteboards.  Then, once they are done, other students would give feedback by giving an ! if they were surprised, check for me too, star for well written and a smiley face for like or funny.  I took out the disagree feedback to keep the activity positive.  Sometimes, I would encourage students to rewrite their answer to add more details after seeing others’ work. (Low prep: all levels)
  • Recently before any novel, we start with a Map Talk!  Ben Tinsley really put this activity on the map (pun intended!). I love this activity because we discuss the countries that border the country we are discussing along with any large bodies of water.  We also find the capital and discuss any other places from the book.  If I have extra time during my prep, I make multiple choice trivia questions about the population and the weather in any city or place that we discuss.  (This is an example that I did with Chile before a non-novel unit!). (Medium prep)
  • After this, I also have my students watch a tourism video of the country as well. This helps bring the culture of the country front and center. I also talk a lot about combining both teacher created materials with found materials or authentic resources. This is a way that I can do that! Many of the times, the EdPuzzles are already made which makes it lower prep. My colleague and I found this one for Ecuador and I made this one for La Paz.
  • I also choose articles from the past year from the country we are reading about from El mundo en tus manos.  I use some of these templates to have them analyze the articles. It also contrasts with some of the stories that we read. Also, there are normally a large variety of articles, so I can provide choice for my students which is important.
  • Give students each 4 sticky notes, and as they are reading, they record down four main events of the chapter in the target language.  At the end of the chapter in small groups or as a whole class, the students can organize their sticky notes in a whole class timeline. (No prep: all levels)
  • Have students fill out the main questions for each chapter: who, what, when, where and why. Then using their notes, they can write a summary. Various groups share their summaries, and students add any information that they are missing.  (Low prep: all levels)
  • I love using reading guides!  Students fill out main ideas, identify vocabulary and visualize scenes by drawing throughout the chapter.  This also helps students focus on the main ideas and concepts from each chapter if they are reading the chapter in pairs or individually.  (High prep: all levels)
  • Give each student a mini whiteboard and ask main questions for them to answer as you read the chapter as a whole class.  You can have students draw, translate, true/false questions- you name it!  Plus, most of my students love being able to write on the mini whiteboards!  (No prep: all levels)
  • Have students pause throughout the chapter, close the book and write down everything they understand/remember.  They could do this in the TL or English.  They then compare their summary with a partner and add anything that they forgot. (No prep: all levels)
  • Mid way through the book, I have students read on their own, then find a GIF that represents a part of the book and put it onto a slide or a Jamboard. Then, at the end, we look at the slides and students guess what GIF matches what part of the book.
  • Once I have students have read a large chunk of the book, I let them choose how they demonstrate their comprehension. I give them a variety of options to choose from. Here is an example from El Ekeko chapters 9-10. I would only do this with students who have read at least 1-2 books, and it is at the end of the 3rd or 4th book. It is high prep, but then my students really did a great job explaining what they understood… and it was low prep for every year after that! (High prep: levels 2+)
  • Martinas collaborative mural is always one of my favorite activities!  I modified it a bit, so three to four students come up to the board at once and draw different parts of the past events in the novel.  Then, I discuss with the class each drawing.  I always start with the question “who is it?”  (No prep: all levels)
  • For a technology task, I like to use Quizizz.  Quizizz is faster than other platforms because the questions come at the students’ pace instead of the whole class.  You can also assign Quizizz for homework.  When I assign it for homework, I like to give a minimum score for students to earn.  If not, they can just click through and not pay too much attention.  Also, depending on how popular the book is sometimes games have already been created!  (Low to medium prep: all levels)
  • There are a lot of other fun games to review what happened in the book! One of my favorite games is to read true or false statements about what is happening in the book in the target language. Students are paired off and they have a beanie baby between them. The beanie baby is my favorite variation- I used to use sticky notes or markers. If the sentence I say is true, they lift up the baby. Whoever gets it earns a point. If it is false, they leave the baby. If their partner picks it up, their partner loses a point. (Low to no prep depending if you write down the sentences: all prep)
  • AnneMarie Chase is the queen of amazing reading games! My favorite game of hers is details, details, details game. It is completely low prep, and I use it with students as young as fourth grade!
  • For each novel, I have started creating Puedos from Laura Sexton.  Puedos are can do statements or questions that students can answer about the novel.  I have two columns.  Students can practice twice on each question with different partners and each partner initials that the student completed it successfully.  I also encourage the partners to HELP each other- not just say oh well if someone can’t do it.  At the end, I spot check about 4-5 of their Puedos.  (Here is an example of my Puedos from Piratas.) (Medium prep: all levels) Some of my favorite questions include:
    • Who is your favorite character? Why?
    • List two facts about the country/city in the book.
    • What does X character do?
    • Describe this character.
  • I enjoy doing a jigsaw activity after a few chapters.  I have done this to review after 4 chapters.  I have students break up into groups of 4.  Then each person from the group decides if they will review chapter 1, 2, 3 or 4.  All of the chapter 1 people get together, all of the chapter 2 people get together etc.  Then from their specific chapter, they write down 3 key words from the chapter, 3 key facts and 3 questions.  This year, I want to change it, so students create a hand out with the key words, key facts and questions.  Then, the next day, they will get back into their original groups.  Each person takes the 3 quizzes from the other chapters.  Then the “expert” from the chapter reviews them. (Low prep: all levels)
  • Halfway through the book, I also like to do a foldable! I learned about this from Bertha Delgadillo. I had used Smashdoodles in the past, but I moved to foldables because it normally involves more than one chapter. I also like to be cognizant of not doing too many varieties of the same activity. It is better to stick with one! For my categories, I have students draw something that represents the book on the outside of the flap and then a 2-3 sentence summary inside it. I also have them write their opinion of a character, hashtags for the book or a chapter and a soundtrack for a chapter or the book. (This is my example that I used with various books.). (No prep: all levels)
  • I like to have students recreate different scenes from the book.  I used to use digital storytelling (and have left the description below if you want to try it!)  You have students recreate scenes then take pictures of their recreations.  If they use Snapchat or Google slides, they can add effects and captions.  Then you can talk about the photos like a PictureTalk and continue to provide more valuable input. Now that I teach younger students, I just have them pose live in the class, and we guess what it is. (No prep: all levels)
  • Another way to review is by using play-doh.  With the play-doh, students sculpt a scene.  Then, students walk around and write down what each sculpture represents from the book. As a class, students guess the sculpture and each person reveals the part of the novel that they were intending to sculpt! In 2023 EdCampCIVa, a teacher shared the idea to ask students what the sculpture is NOT. I love this twist because at times, it can be repetitive if too many students choose the same scene. (No prep: all levels)
  • For reading activities, I like to have students make Google Forms to send out as quizzes for all of the students.  I encourage students to write around 5-6 questions and normally true/false or multiple choice.  Then the students can take their peers’ quizzes.  Not only does it help the students who are reviewing the book, but it also helps students learn how to make a Google Form (which far too few students know how to do!) (No prep: all levels)
  • I have used Google Tours before, but Google took away the tours capability. I have used MyMaps once after reading El Ekeko. I printed out the questions and let them answer on a separate sheet of paper. It seemed to take my sixth graders longer to navigate, but they enjoyed it once they got the hang of it! And it was one of the last days of school- so I will try this again next year. (High prep: all levels)
  • In the middle of the book, we have also completed vocabulary mind maps that Sara-Elizabeth suggests.  I like to think of categories to group vocabulary.  For example, in Piratas, I did Pirate actions and Spanish actions.  These are also great to display for when students are reading to help reference the vocabulary. (No prep: all levels)
  • Halfway through the book, I also like to give students a decision task. They need to come up with the 10 most important facts in the book. Each pair decides on 2-3 (depending on how large your class is. You want some debate, but you don’t want 50 events at the end!) Then, you will list them all on the board. If there are repeats, you can add a tally to that event. As a whole class discussion, you can narrow the events down to 10. For novice high, I have to guide more, but with my 8th graders, they are able to give more reasons without my support. (Low prep: late level 1+)

I feel like this already lengthy post may be too long- but it can also be overwhelming if you haven’t taught a book. So what would it look like in my classroom?

Beginning of the book (note: this is much more hands-on for me to make sure all students understand the book):

  • After introducing the culture with a Map Talk and video, I would show a picture that introduces the vocabulary from the chapter.
  • Then, the students would complete a PearDeck vocabulary activity.
  • We read the first chapter with whiteboards.
  • Students complete an exit ticket where they rank how well they understood the chapter and write down at least 1 question that they have.
  • The next day, they complete a Quizizz activity to review the facts.

Later in the book:

  • Dictation activity
  • Students complete a reading guide as they read the chapter individually or in pairs.
  • Students create play-doh scenes and others guess to review the main ideas from the last 2 chapters. I highlight any ideas that they miss.
  • We discuss a cultural element from the book, and students watch a video in EdPuzzle about it.

(Also if you are interested in learning about how I incorporate IPAs into my novel study, check out my video here!)

6 thoughts on “30 ideas to use while teaching novels

  1. This is one of my favorite posts ever. When I’m teaching a book, I visit it at least every couple of chapters for ideas. I especially like how it is organized into pre, during, and post reading suggestions. Thank you for sharing your ideas!

Leave a comment