Brillante Viernes: March 23, 2018 and Noticias: March 26, 2018

Brillante Viernes March 23

Happy Friday (and happy almost spring break to most people and me!)  We ended up with a snow day on Wednesday which was a nice surprise.  My son literally yelled “FINALLY!” while walking in the snow.  I am posting my news early this week because next week, I am off to Disney World with my son and parents!  I am thrilled and also a bit scared of the crowds, but I know we will have fun. This week, you can find me over at Comprehensible Online talking about my favorite tech tools to provide input to students.  In the meantime, check out these posts:

Posts from the past two weeks:

Noticias 26 de marzo

For the news this week, I included:

  • The Peruvian President’s resignation
  • The first Starbucks store is opening in Uruguay
  • Mexican Pre-Columbian statues are returned from Germany
  • One school in Colombia is banning sugary drinks
  • The Davis Cup and the Uruguayan tennis player Pablo Cuevas

While I didn’t put together a packet due to my spring break, you may want to buy an old packet if you would like more activities to do with them.  While some of them are specific to the news articles, you can get ideas to apply to these articles.  I think these articles would lend to some good discussion about if students think that schools should be able to ban sugary drinks.  The article quoted that most students drink about 2 sodas a day.  It would be interesting to survey your classes and see if they match.  Also, you can look up or have students explore on their own Starbucks cafés in other countries.  Hope you enjoy them!

26 de marzo

Leave a comment