Posted in No Prep Required

Jigsaw technique in a FL class

Jigsaw technique

To me, one of the best things about a teacher education program is that you learn techniques that you store away until they make so much sense to use!  Jigsaw is one technique that helped me recently.  Essentially, students break into smaller groups then they recombine to form new groups to teach each other the material.  The article describes this much better than I could.  I had trouble applying this to my current teaching until the other day.

Recently, we did Martina’s unit El Secreto.  I added in the story of Te Veo at the beginning.  For the assessment, I wanted students to compare these stories to a wordless video that they watched.  However, many students had forgotten or confused some of the earlier stories.  I decided to use the Jigsaw method to review the stories.  I had students break into smaller groups based on what story they wanted.  In their smaller groups, they summarized the story in Spanish and wrote 3 comprehension questions for the group.

Then, I regrouped the students in groups of 3-4.  I put one student that had reviewed different stories, so I would have one student from Te Veo, one student from El Secreto and one student from La novia desaparecida.  If I needed a fourth student, I would double up one story.  One student was able to read the recap, and the other partner could read the questions.  This worked really well, and many of the students spoke in Spanish, and seemed to understand what their partners were saying.

I needed my online/blended class to replicate this method.  Instead of working in groups, I put them in partners, and they added their notes to a Padlet.  This helped them all review in one area, and they could see everyone’s notes.

How do you use Jigsaw in your classes?  I have also recently read of a teacher using the Jigsaw method with different authentic resources.  I look forward to trying it again.

Leave a Reply

