Holiday traditions in Costa Rica

Las fiestas en Costa Rica powerpoint

I rounded out my cultural background with a slideshow of holiday traditions in Costa Rica.  I previously had a unit with birthday and wedding traditions.  I made sure to include the fact that there are Jewish people in Costa Rica as well.  I believe it is important to focus on different groups in countries or students believe that everyone in Costa Rica is Catholic. After using this powerpoint, I used some of Courtney’s great Navidad bonanza activities.  I like that my students after this unit had more of a grasp of Costa Rican traditions in particular.  What are your students currently loving?  Share your thoughts with me!

5 thoughts on “Holiday traditions in Costa Rica

  1. I agree! I was really proud when one of my students said, “I thought everyone was Catholic!” I had to search for awhile. I found a couple of websites with Kosher supermarkets in Costa Rica, but they were all pretty dated.

Leave a comment