Creating more interpretive listening exercises

"Jurassic Park Tyrannosaurus." (Nov. 2011) by Marco Becerra
“Jurassic Park Tyrannosaurus.” (Nov. 2011) by Marco Becerra

Some students listed that listening is still difficult for them, so I wanted to develop different activities on that this summer.  I discovered an old archive of langchat which suggested giving students a written summary of a listening activity to correct.  This is a great activity for beginners!

I also want to further expand on my students’ interests.  I am trying to find sites for different videos other than YouTube.  I found videos from Fandango Cine on the Telemundo site.  Here there is a video about Jurassic Park!  I know that my kids love watching movies, and this is a topic that they can relate to.

First, I would have students write down the five moments as notes as they watch it the first time.  I would then give them the paragraph to correct as they watch.  I think it is important to give students specific tasks while they are working on a listening activity.  This movie is also good because it gives students a reference point that many of them have seen.  I also added questions for them to ask a partner (as I am trying to make my students speak more!)  I included the handout that I am going to give my students.

4 thoughts on “Creating more interpretive listening exercises

  1. OK, so I was excited about getting some listening advice, since that was where my kiddos struggled too this year. Seeing we had a LangChat to refer to seemed even more promising…until I realized a lot of it was from me :/ I’m really looking to break away from the reading/listening conjunction because all that seemed to help was, well, reading. I worry about using something as familiar as Jurassic Park, too, since kids might not even have to listen to do the follow-up reading task. And is the follow-up conversation supposed to build on what they heard in the video or just lead into the next phase of the unit? Also, would you do any frontloading of the vocabulary they could expect or just rely on the cognates and borrowed words?

    1. Oh no! I was excited about trying this listening and reading combination to strengthen both. I feel that they can use their prior knowledge, but I want to use this in the first week or so when they are still warming up their brains (and digging everything back up via Make It Stick.) I am also teaching level 3- non honors. I am going to see how my class is, but I worry that some of them do not feel like strong Spanish students because our level 3 is where the honors/non honors split happens. I am also trying to rack my brain because I want to give them speaking tasks about things that they like speaking about. Therefore, I made those questions vague- they could be about the video or not- just speak in Spanish! Finally, I do not think that I would add any additional words. I think with the video and cognates, they should be able to figure it out. Hopefully we can figure out more how to help them with listening!

Leave a comment