Posted in beginning of the year

Details Part II: Unit I Spanish I Introductions and Activities

Details Part II Unit I Spanish I Intro and Activities

This is the third post about my preliminary plans for my first unit in Spanish I this year.  You can find the first post including my final objectives for the unit here and the first days here.

My other objective for this section is:

  • Focusing on how to discuss likes and dislikes

For the next day, I plan on working with likes and dislikes.  When students enter, they will read the following infographic.  (Me gusta mucho)  I will then use PearDeck’s polls to have students vote on which ones they like and do not like.  The nice thing is that I can set PearDeck to student paced mode, so students can move at their own pace throughout the questions.  Once we have done this, I can lock their answers and we can view and discuss everyone’s favorites.  After this, we can go through the date and weather as well.

As I plan to start with interpretive reading, I will provide students a practice reading activity with Yahoo Respuestas.  I will give students the print out to read and mark up.  Then students will move around and write on large papers cognates, words that they have learned in the first week and items that people identify that they like from their reading.  Throughout this unit, students will be able to keep a list of important and useful words that they find.  While we will have a list of main words for them to know, they will be able to put together a list of words that would be important to them.  When they are done, they can move around and include any new words that they learned on their list.  Then, we will answer some questions in English about the reading together.  Finally, we will play a game of Kahoot about the reading.  Once the Kahoot is done, we will continue to work with talking about students in the class.

My goal is to have their interpretive reading quiz the following day.  Of course, I will have to determine how the previous day goes.  I will also provide students a study guide.  The study guide will be another Yahoo Respuestas question.  It will be different from the one that they will eventually get on the quiz.  I realize that many teachers like to have unannounced quizzes and they do not like to give as much information up front as I do.  While that may give you a better idea of the level of your students, I like to build up the confidence in my students.  I have many nervous students (and parents), and I want them to feel capable and able to study for their task.  Also as ALL of you have searched for authentic resources before, you know that there is a very slim chance that students can find the same authentic resource that you have.

After the quiz, we will switch it up to practice some listening with these video clips from Zachary Jones.  I love that he uses clipart to help novice students decipher what the words mean in Spanish.  This also allows me to have a full lesson plan based on how long it takes the students.  There are many different video recordings for students.

The following day, we will start Señor Wooly’s Puedo ir al baño as our input in the beginning.  After the weather, I will give students a list of questions including introductions and likes/preferences.  Each student will get one question and practice using quiz-quiz-trade.  They each ask their question then trade questions with their partner and find a new partner.  I will circulate to note which questions are difficult to students to highlight in the next few days.

Once they are done, they can add another entry to their Seesaw journals using these guiding questions:

  • ¿Prefieres octubre o mayo?
  • ¿Prefieres el océano o las montañas?
  • ¿Prefieres el té o el agua?
  • ¿Prefieres la música pop o rock n roll?

I want them to add a picture to their entry and find someone else in the class that prefers some of the same things that they do.

The next day, we will start with a Quizizz about what students have learned about the likes of their classmates based on our talking with cards/circling with balls at the end of each class.  Then, we will do the weather and date.  Students will then go on a linguacafe talk using some guided questions to again reiterate and practice introductions and likes/dislikes.  We will play a quick glob game before reading.  I made this reading about an Argentinian tennis player who is number one in the world for wheelchair tennis.  I included questions about it and a video that we can watch as a class.  I also included a reading about the Argentinian women’s field hockey team with questions and a video to watch.

The following day, we will complete an interpersonal interview.  I will interview each student.  As I am interviewing each student, the other students will be working on Señor Wooly nuggets from Puedo ir al baño.  At the end of class, we will complete a free write for students to brainstorm everything that they have learned.  Once I look at their free writes in addition to their speaking practice, I will determine how to finish practicing before their final writing assignment.  I will be finishing up this week with more ways to focus on writing in addition to focusing on when events occur.

One thought on “Details Part II: Unit I Spanish I Introductions and Activities

Leave a Reply

