Posted in beginning of the year

Details Part I: Unit I Spanish I Introductions and Activities

 

Details Part I Unit I Introductions and Activities

Earlier this week, I started to plan for my first unit.  I started to collect a variety of resources to complete it next.  I also had to decide what order made sense to tackle the can do statements.  The first few days I will work on “I can introduce myself and I can identify cognates.”  I will also start to work on weaving in “I can talk about my likes.”  You can find my first day of school plans here.

For the second day, I will start by defining what a cognate is then we can review some of the cognates that they brainstormed the previous day.  Then, I will have students visit this website (or you can take screenshots.) At each table group, I will challenge them to find as many cognates as they can while they explore the website.  We will compare the number of cognates that they can find.  After this, we will start the calendar and weather introduction.  We will have a quick brain break where we introduce ourselves asking what is your name then tossing a soft ball to another classmate and asking his/her name.  At the end, we will continue the circling with balls/card talks that students started the day before.  This starts to reinforce the likes/dislikes ideas.

For the third day, we will continue with these ideas.  First, students will set up their Seesaw account.  Then, students will be able to answer the following questions:

¿Prefieres el parque o el café?
¿Prefieres las hamburguesas o la pasta?
¿Prefieres la televisión o la computadora?
¿Prefieres la clase del arte o la clase de ciencias?

I will provide students with the word “prefiero” to add to the beginning of the sentence.  I also want students to add a picture to their post to play around with using Seesaw.  I will again reiterate that these words are all cognates.  After this, we will start the calendar and weather.  Then, we will watch this video that reviews introductory phrases.  It is an awkward video, but I think we can stop it a few times and ask questions- like if we think that the two characters will finally dance together.  Then, we will do a quick round of rock, paper, scissors a la Maestra Loca.  Finally, we will continue to work through the circling with balls.  I will write up a few of the previous class stories for students to read as well.  These are preliminary plans, so I hope that you can take these ideas and modify them for your own use!

Leave a Reply

