Posted in Authentic resources, Technology

Five authentic resources for novices and how I used them in class

Five authres for novices

I was so excited the other day!  I had actually pinned these videos earlier, and they were PERFECT for my unit!  They are the MasterChef Junior contestants introducing themselves in Spanish!  Each one is between 30 seconds to a minute long.  Instead of putting them into EdPuzzle, we watched them as a whole class.  Students had time to list words that they heard and understood and any facts/information that they understood as well.  I like to have open ended prompts like this from time to time because it really does highlight what students can do- instead of me trying to listen as a novice listener trying to pick out items that they should hear.  If you look on the side of the video, they have a ton of suggested videos that are all the same!  Also, many of my students really like MasterChef in general.

I shared this on my Facebook page recently, but I loved this Coca-cola ad.  I typed up a transcript with some help from the #langchat group to find a word.  We also discussed the phrase “¿cuál elegirías?” where I gave them two options before watching.  This helped scaffold the difficult part at the end.  Students listened twice to focus on the words then watched the video, and I discussed it in Spanish.  Then we went back through and highlighted the descriptions of everyone.

For my unit on activities and how we spend our time, I like this infographic!  I used this to introduce the topic and had students answer questions on this, but you could easily have students create their own schedule on the same chart and compare it to each country.  It doesn’t involve a lot of writing either.

I found this website with a ton of infographics about Thanksgiving in the US.  This is my exam theme for my level 2 class because our exams are right before Thanksgiving.  Plus, it combines many of the themes from level 1 and the beginning of 2.  In addition, when I traveled to Spain, I had to answer a lot of questions about Thanksgiving!  (My favorite was when my friend mistakenly said “polvo” instead of “pavo” and her host family asked if she went to the backyard to gather it!)  Many times, I plan an activity to go with it, but I just opened a blank PearDeck and kept adding questions as I was going.  It was easy to prep on the fly- and I could cover all of the different types of questions.  You could also use some of these for level 1 because students are aware of the celebration, and there are many cognates.

This infographic also discusses families.  I had students look at a word cloud with all of the words ahead of time.  Many of them could start to see the topic before they saw the actual infographic.  Then I had them identify facts that they understood.  Everyone was able to identify at least 4-5 facts, and they also made good observations as they were able to focus on what they could understand.

Edited to add! If you are interested in PearDeck, here is how I set it up if you want to ask questions on the fly.  I set up a PearDeck slide and add a blank slide.

Screen Shot 2017-11-12 at 9.24.30 AM

Then I click the green start presenting button.  Once my students are in and my slideshow has started, I can just click on the add a question.

peardeck.png

You have to hover over the bottom of the screen for these choices to appear.  Then this screen will pop up, and I use ask a new question.

Screen Shot 2017-11-12 at 12.58.56 PM

Here are your choices.  I think the drawing part is part of my premium subscription, but I know that you can choose the other choices.

Screen Shot 2017-11-12 at 12.59.05 PM.png

If I put text answer, the screen looks like this and all students can put in their answers.

Screen Shot 2017-11-12 at 12.59.14 PM

Many times, I will also write a question on the board to help them if needed.  The beauty of PearDeck if you haven’t used it is that you can display all students’ answers.  Then we can review them all as a class.  It gives everyone a good amount of processing time as well.

Leave a Reply

