Posted in Favorites

Thank you!

This week’s #vedchat conversation was about appreciation.  Sometimes we all get so caught up in our day to day lives that we don’t focus on what we are grateful for.  It is also happens even less at the end of the year.  Today, I wanted to share some of the many things that I am thankful for this year.

  • I am thankful for my department head and cadre of Latin teachers.  They are always there to bounce ideas around about how we are transitioning to proficiency.  I have learned countless ideas from them, and they are my face-to-face PD that never let me down.  Also, they support me when I make wild declarations like I am dropping my textbook next year and don’t think that I am crazy.
  • I am very thankful for my middle school friends!  They are always there when I need to grab a quick bite to eat after school or with a funny text at the end of a particularly wonderful or rough day.  We are also very alike with educational philosophies, so I enjoy talking shop with them too.  I love chatting with them over coffee each morning.
  • I am thankful for the technology department at my school.  It goes without saying that I am so lucky to work with one of the best technology coordinators ever.  She is always there any time I send an excited email about EdSurge or want to try out Flipgrid.  But our head of technology will answer any question that I want and make Adobe Illustrator seem SO easy.  While I blog about a ton of technology resources, it is truly because I have their support and help.
  • I am thankful to my school for allowing me to create my own blended class.  I can confidently say that my school has completely changed how I teach.  Not only by infusing technology into my classes, but also the ability to use computers all of the time.  They also encourage smart use of technology and not just using technology for technology’s sake.
  • My principal and assistant principal have been great about allowing the foreign language team to experiment with using more IPAs this year.  They have allowed us to eliminate final exams in some of our classes for a final IPA.  Both my students and I are excited!  Also, my principal has been extremely supportive of my professional development this year.  I could not have gone to all of these events without his support which I appreciate immensely.
  • And it ALMOST goes without saying that I am thankful for my students.  They are willing to try anything that I throw at them, and many times, I throw different technologies at them.  They always give me feedback, and they keep me on my toes.  They push me to be a better teacher because I want them to be successful and like Spanish.  I can’t explain the pride that I have in them inside and outside of class, but I am a better person for knowing and learning from them.
  • Outside of school, I am very thankful for all of my edcamp committee members!  I enjoy working with edcampmetrodc every time, and they push our committee to constantly strive to be better.  They are the only reason why I am semi-confident enough to try my hand at a new edcamp.  I am also so thankful to my newest edcamp co-founder for not telling me that I am crazy when I wanted to form edcampciva!  It is definitely a risk, and  I am so excited for it, too.  I truly believe that this will be the future of PD and can be organized by anyone
  • I cannot leave out all of the bloggers who inspire me day in and day out!  They allow me to keep up to date with the latest trends and what works in their classes.  This has pushed me to try new things like presentational speaking which has changed up how I look at different modes!  Also- my Twitter friends on #langchat continue to offer some of the best free professional development every Thursday night/Saturday morning.  They push my beliefs and ask some hard questions.
  • Finally- my family is wonderful and supportive!  My husband just says “langchat” every Thursday night and doesn’t complain when I ask to order takeout many Thursday nights (… or forget to tell him that I finished cooking because I am tweeting!)  He is also excited for me and always lets me try something new.  I obviously couldn’t   My mom and dad will listen to all of my stories about teaching and my students.  My mother-in-law likes every single post that I have on Facebook!

And you!  Thank you for reading my blog!  You make me feel like I am not talking to myself when you comment.  I was terrified to start blogging.  How would I ever measure up to some of the excellent bloggers that already exist?  But in all honesty, everyone has always been generous and nice.  You give me purpose to keep going and keep blogging!  I hope that this post gives you time to reflect about who you are thankful for.

One thought on “Thank you!

Leave a Reply

