Posted in Brillante Viernes

Brillante Viernes: April 21, 2017

Brillante Viernes: April 21

I would be remiss if I didn’t say Happy Birthday Roma to all of my Latin friends!  It is that time of year when we have comments due, parent teacher conferences, presentations to make AND a dance show to be in!  Is that last one just me?  Next Friday, I will be participating in the MS Dance Show the Wiz and dancing with some of my students.  I cannot wait!  This weekend, I will probably have to break my no work on the weekend rule, but it helps when summer seems so close.  If you have time, you should definitely read these posts:

  • I was reading John’s post, and I felt like yelling ME TOO! the whole time.  Next year for me will be year three… and no textbooks!
  • Check out this crossword train for a fun activity this spring!
  • I really like this application of summarizing and note taking of a story or non-fiction piece.
  • I am reading more and more about homework.  Here is an interesting piece about how to evaluate the homework that we give.

Flashback from 2013-2016!

2 thoughts on “Brillante Viernes: April 21, 2017

  1. Hi! I enjoyed reading your post about parent-teacher conferences. I would always ask the parents if the student talked about the class and what was he/she like at home. It was a good insight into the relationship between the student and the parent. In the last 15 years of my career, I used student-led conferences, where the students would attend the conferences with their parents and present their portfolio of work to them.

    1. Thanks! We have dabbled with the idea of student-led conferences. One reason that we haven’t is because sometimes parents have something that they would like to share with us without the students. I have also seen half with students and half without students.

Leave a Reply

