Posted in Technology

New Technology Updates

New Technology Updates

I always get really excited when some of my favorite technology makes updates!  I wanted to share these with you if you use the following websites.

Almost all of my students love Kahoot!  In fact, I ran into one of my students at Target with his friends from a different school, and he requested that we play more Kahoot!  Here are a few updates that they have made this fall:

  1. You can award additional points when students are on streaks.  This is great because it keeps students who don’t always win engaged, so they don’t break their “streak!”  To turn this on, you turn on the option after you click “Play” on the game screen.Kahoot Answer Streak.png
  2. In addition, you can turn on Podium, so the top three players are displayed at the end of the game.  This is on the same screen, but it is located at the bottom of the page:Screen Shot 2016-10-31 at 12.31.48 PM.pngOnce you turn these features on, they stay on throughout your other games.
  3. Finally, a new Kahoot game is coming called Jumble!  Instead of selecting the correct option, you put the pieces in the correct order.  You can try it out on the website.  I loved it!  One of the aspects that I really liked was that if I got the answer incorrect, it prompted me to try again.  I could keep going until I got the answer correct.  This would be perfect after telling a story to have students put the events in the correct order.

As I have blogged before, I really like using Voicethread for speaking practice.  One of my reasons is because students can call on their phones to record their answers.  They have a lot of new features as well:

  1. Students can add their own slides without being a collaborator.  At the bottom of the page, there is a button with two squares.Voicethread Add Slide.pngThen this slide pops up and they click on the plus:Voicethread 2.pngThey can record an audio, upload files and record a video.
  2. I have used Voicethread as an assessment.  Now you can search for commenters by clicking on the magnifying glass at the bottom:              Voicethread III.png
  3. Finally, you can add videos to comment on via YouTube!

Check out these new updates, and let me know how you use the following programs!

One thought on “New Technology Updates

Leave a Reply

