Posted in Assessments, Integrated Performance Assessment

Rethinking my feedback for students

Focusing on feedback in a FL class

As I have been using Integrated Performance Assessments, it has been easier to give specific feedback to students.  It is important to have a good rubric, but once you do, it gives you specific points to give feedback to your students.  As I am giving more feedback via these rubrics, I want to continue to work on this aspect.  I read a lot of articles from TeachThought that have helped to guide some points that I want to focus on this year.  I am going to evaluate myself as I evaluate my students and start with the positive then move on to what I want to improve.

  • I always find something positive to say to each student, and I typically can find areas to improve.  I never just focus on what students need to do to improve.
  • I have also focused on one or two specific areas to improve even if the student has more problems in multiple aspects.  If you critique too many things, it leads to students becoming overwhelmed.
  • This year, I want to try to give a bit more “pre” feedback before the assessments.  With interpersonal assessments, the students complete a fishbowl activity.  (They talk about a given topic in two groups.)  I want to use Amy Lenord’s interpersonal feedback.  While I will not have time to add notes, I will be able to give students a few items to concentrate on during their interpersonal assessment.  After the assessment, I will give them more specific details.
  • I created a presentational writing feedback that I modeled after the rubric that my school uses and inspired by Amy’s feedback form.  I want to use this from time to time to give them updates on their journal entries.  (This is included at the end of the post.)
  • I also want to create a folder to collect student’s feedback.  This will allow them to see progress.  This way, they will have something to reference as they are trying to improve.
  • One of the articles mentioned to use the sentence starter “I noticed…”  I like this to use.  Also, Amy shared this great list of positive words, so I don’t become repetitive giving feedback or writing comments!
  • Finally, I want to create an ongoing list of what students can do in class and at home to improve each aspect of the list.  For example, if students want to work on their pronunciation, they can sing along to songs at home and listen to native speaker audio clips.  Or I want to encourage students to ask more questions about the prompt if they are not completing all parts of it.

My goal is to give students specific ways to improve.  As I continue to move away from traditional grammar and vocabulary assessments, I need to provide a path for students to improve.  I cannot assume that my students know how to do it on their own.

presentational writing feedback

3 thoughts on “Rethinking my feedback for students

  1. I have been looking to make more of these rubrics based on Amy’s – thanks for sharing yours! I’m excited to use it and to focus on feedback this year as well!

Leave a Reply

