Posted in Brillante Viernes

Brillante Viernes: June 10, 2016

Happy Friday!  Today is 8th grade promotion ceremony and my exam for my Upper School students.  It is bittersweet for me.  I LOVE summer- I am from Virginia Beach!  But I really would keep teaching for a few more weeks to spend more time with my students.  My blended class had such a wonderful mix of students and a great community of learners.  Also, I have taught some of my Upper School students for three years.  I am always in awe of how far they have come.  I look at their reading/writing/speaking skills and think how did you learn all of that?!  I also look at them and see the 7th graders that I once knew.  I consider it to be a huge blessing that I get to watch these students grow and mature.  I have to admit that I get teary during any promotion or graduation.  I look at students who have seen enormous growth or who have had difficult years.  I literally feel my heart swell, and tears start forming.  I am so proud of my students and feel blessed that I got to teach them!

I hope that the end of the year is going smoothly for you.  Here are some of my favorite posts from this week:

  • I love how Sra. Dentlinger uses Quizlet Live which has been one of my student’s favorite games this year.
  • I really like how Sra. Stilson is working on her vocabulary for next year.  I want to consider a little words quiz as well.
  • How am I just finding Sra. Shaw’s blog?!  I love so many of her interpersonal activities here, but her whole blog will keep me reading all summer!
  • This is a great discussion about our grades and what we grade.

A flashback to last June:

2 thoughts on “Brillante Viernes: June 10, 2016

Leave a Reply

