Authentic Resource: Medical Unit

Spanish Medical Unit: #authres

Since I am teaching Upper School this year, I am reteaching some medical words.  We use two different books, so this unit happens to fall in both Spanish I in the Middle School and Spanish II in the Upper School.  I have been trying to get a few new authentic resources to use since my students have used the same ones last year.  Here are some of my favorites:

  • I was looking for a video clip, and I thought about telenovelas!  Someone is always about to die in those, so I found this clip.  I only used about the first two minutes of the video.
  • Also, I like to educate my students on how to prevent the flu.  (I wouldn’t mind avoiding it this year either…)  I like this article to explain it.
  • For an upper level, this article discusses the risks of texting to your hands and fingers.
  • This is one of my favorite infographics about the flu especially because of the great graphic in the middle.
  • Although this is not an authentic resource, I really like the University of Texas’s Spanish proficiency listening activities.  They have great ones about explaining an ailment to a doctor.
  • Finally, I had my students describe what is happening in this video (Aldrey’s La Lista).  It is one of my favorite all time videos!  I then had students brainstorm about what would be on their “list.”
3 thoughts on “Authentic Resource: Medical Unit

  1. Maris,
    You inspire me. I can’t thank you enough for your blog. I’m at the tail end of my medical unit, and now I want to extend just to use those wonderful resources. Mll gracias

  2. Pingback: Brillante Viernes: February 3, 2017 | Maris Hawkins

Leave a Reply

