Posted in Favorites, Link Parties, Simple Sundays

Simple Sunday: What Kind of Teacher Are You?

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 12.45.53 PM

I am feeling reflective this weekend, and I wanted to participate in Laura‘s amazing sentence starter activity.

  1. I am a good teacher because: I collaborate, and I have hobbies.  I think it is so important to collaborate and share with other teachers, and I am happy to use their ideas as well.  I also love getting feedback and have invited numerous teachers into my classroom.  Also, I think it is so important to have hobbies and a life outside of the classroom.  I make time to cook and go to yoga class.  This helps me to be calmer in the classroom.
  2. If I weren’t a teacher, I would be: an art museum curator!  I studied art history, and I loved it.  I love being in museums and want to be a docent when I retire.  I can’t wait for my son to go to art museums with me this summer- and in DC, they are all free!
  3. My teaching style is: varied. I like to use different activities and try different ones.  While I start class the same way, each of my classes are different.  I feel that this keeps the students and me interested.  (You may be able to tell from my blog style!)
  4. My classroom is: a portable. (We call them learning cottages.)  It is the nicest one that I have seen.  I have lots of windows and control the heat/AC, but when it is freezing in the winter, I hate walking to it!
  5. My lesson plans are: always written down, but probably on a sticky note.  I need to organize my system more, so I save time each year.  But I like changing things up each time. (See question 3!)
  6. One of my teaching goals is: to continue to move away from the textbook.  I am in a weird place now because I use the textbook, and my students have to buy it.  I want to make it worth their money, but at the same time, I find myself moving farther away from it.
  7. The toughest part of teaching is: wanting to create, create, create but not always feeling creative- or not having the time.  I love when I come up with a good story.  I steal a lot of Martina’s stories.  Sometimes I want to create a good story… and I just can’t.  Or I keep trying to find inspiration… and it is time to go home. (And the after school meetings!  Oh those meetings…)
  8. The thing I love most about teaching is: my students.  I love watching them transform and learn throughout the year.  Since I teach at a 2-12 school, it is wonderful to continue to see them throughout the following years.  They make me laugh and keep me on my toes.
  9. A common misconception about (Spanish) teaching: is that you can give students SO MUCH material, and they will be able to retain it and use it well.  I am looking at you ridiculously long vocabulary list!  I want to prepare my students for the following year, but I also get frustrated because it is so much material to get through. (I stole the Spanish from Señor Fernie!)
  10. The most important thing that I have learned since I started teaching is: keep trying to improve a little every day.  You don’t have to conquer the world (or the Spanish language), but try something new every day.  This will help you improve as a teacher.  (And know that some days, you just won’t- but the next day is a new day!)  I feel that I have done this with speaking Spanish in the class.  It was always one of my goals, and slowly but surely feel that I am increasing my time in the TL and how much my students understand.

Join into Laura’s post!

One thought on “Simple Sunday: What Kind of Teacher Are You?

Leave a Reply

