Posted in Listening

Spicing up listening activities

Another one of my confessions: I enjoy using the listening activities from the book.  These are not the exclusive activities that I use for listening, but I like them because:

  1. They are pre-made.  I already have a lot of prep.
  2. The vocabulary is repetitive and condensed.
  3. They are quick!  I can cover one to two activities in 10 minutes max.  It is perfect at the end of the block.

However, today I had an AHA! moment as I was reading one of the conversations.  I should spice it up- and easily!  Many times, I try to read with enthusiasm, but what if I added props?  Today, it was a conversation between a doctor and patient.  I could just add a white coat and perhaps a stethoscope to the routine.  It would make it even more engaging for my students, and it would be really easy to execute.  Have you ever added props to the listening activities?  I am excited to try!

Leave a Reply

