Arte de NGA

Screen Shot 2015-01-29 at 6.17.57 PM

I am so excited about this post!  As I have started to write more news articles for my students to read, it has become easier to keep them simple.  In the past, we always take a field trip to the National Gallery of Art.  This is the first year that I wrote short paragraphs about El Greco, Goya and Picasso for my students to read.  I was lucky that one of the educational consultants that works at my school was there yesterday to help me formulate a lesson plan!

  1. Warm-up: students will read the word cloud for words that they know and use at least three in a sentence: Screen Shot 2015-01-29 at 5.49.29 PM
  2. We will do a quick poll about if students like art in Spanish and if they like certain artists.  They will move to one side of the room or the other depending on if they like the art or artist or not.
  3. I am going to give them a quick vocabulary lesson in English to see if they know certain terms such as the Renaissance, cubism and “realistic” or “natural” art.
  4. My students will read my newsletter that I created.
  5. Students will sort out pictures into which artist they think created each piece.
  6. Finally, students will describe one piece in Spanish as much as they can.  They will also state one sentence of why they like that piece.

I am looking forward to my revamped art lesson plans!  In the museum, my students’ goal is to find art that they like and complete this hand-out.  I feel so fortunate to be so close to the NGA.

4 thoughts on “Arte de NGA

  1. Pingback: Back to school news articles | Maris Hawkins

  2. Pingback: Brillante Viernes: February 3, 2017 | Maris Hawkins

Leave a Reply

