Movie… write?

After reading Mike Peto’s blog about MovieTalk, I was inspired to try it again.  I had done so before with Limón y Sal.  It went well, but I wanted more accountability.  I had my students write their answers.  I think it would also work to have students write the sequence after they viewed the video, and we discussed it.  We watched the video: Café Serré.  I included some obvious questions and open-ended questions.  Tomorrow, I am going to have students write the ending about what happens when the police show up.  Finally, you could use these questions to structure your talk instead of having students answer them.

La policía y el ladrón

3 thoughts on “Movie… write?

  1. Thank you for sharing! I love your blog, let me tell you that I read your blog pretty regularly and I showed my 7th and 8th grade Spanish classes La policia y el ladron yesterday and today and they loved it! The questions were also perfect because it gave them a reason to really pay attention to everything in the video. Do you have your students answer the questions in English or Spanish? I had my students answer what they could in Spanish and the imagination answers I had them complete in English.

    • Thanks so much! I am glad it worked! My students all answered in Spanish, but they are level 1B, so they are like 3/4 of the way done with Spanish 1 even though we are only half way through the year. You could rewrite some of their responses in Spanish to create a new story if you would like. I was going to have my students continue the story, but we had another delay!

  2. Pingback: Brillante Viernes: January 13, 2017 | Maris Hawkins

Leave a Reply

