Posted in Simple Sundays

Simple Sundays: The role of teacher bloggers

Many people discuss the role of mommy bloggers and Pinterest. People say that it puts too much pressure on moms to fix a home cooked meal, maintain a perfectly organized house (and using homemade natural cleaners at that!) all while making sensory boxes for your child! It seems excessive. However, it made me think about the role of teacher bloggers. Many times, bloggers post their perfect lessons with their perfectly organized classroom. Their students appear to be engaged for the most part, and teachers never use *gasp* the textbook!!

In some ways, I feel that I fall victim to this. I rarely blog about my failures- for multiple reasons. One is because I want this to be a portfolio. You worry that people think less of you if you are constantly posting failures. Since my full name is attached to it, that makes it even more obvious for parents, students or future employers. (Although I know that my students probably do not read my blog!) I also feel that I figure people read my blog to get ideas that work- not ones that don’t.

Today I thought I would post some things that I wished I did better:

1. I still use the textbook. I mostly use it for warm up, homework and structure. I want to break away from it more, but I honestly believe that many of my students benefit from the structure it provides.
2. I want to write more stories and news articles in Spanish. This always appears on my to do list, but it gets pushed down each week.
3. I wish I figured out oral speaking tasks better. Some of the kids are motivated but others fall short, and it becomes teacher directed. Also if I am doing an oral assessment, I can’t figure out how to have the other kids working on a worthwhile task quietly.
4. I can’t seem to figure out how to put together an IPA, but it is one of my goals.

Do others agree? Do you feel pressure after reading blogs or are you just happy for the ideas? I’d love to start this discussion.

13 thoughts on “Simple Sundays: The role of teacher bloggers

  1. I totally agree. As a fellow blogger, when not posting about songs (what I’m known for) I only post really cool ideas or stuff that works for me. However, I can only imagine that how language teachers feel reading post after post on language blogs is the way I sometimes feel reading other blogs: inferior. I’ve had to stop reading some blogs that shame me into thinking what I might do is wrong. While most of the time I feel quite inspired reading ideas from other teachers, I definitely do start to feel like I’m inferior to teachers who use one method/idea/technique over what I use.

    1. Thanks so much for your thoughts! I feel like I create a lot of material and borrow a lot of material, but there is always something else that I want to add. I keep thinking about opening a Teachers Pay Teachers store for more than just what I post, but I just can’t even force myself to add graphics to current worksheets. Those teachers amaze me.

  2. I just love this! It’s great to be real because the truth is we really don’t have it together all the time. I definitely have shortcomings and there are days when I leave thinking that, ooops, that lesson was a flop. Do I blog about it though? Probably not. šŸ˜‰ This is a definite reminder that we are not “super teacher” all the time and that it’s ok to show our readers that as well. As for Teachers Pay Teachers…I honestly believe that if I can do it, anybody can. I never would have imagined 10 months ago when I started where that journey would take me. I’m happy to offer any TpT tips or advice if you ever decide to give it a go.
    Emilie

    1. Thanks so much! I keep debating about it, but I probably will email you sooner rather than later. That is another thing- life seems to always be busy! Sometimes, we have to go with what we have and do not have time to construct perfect activities for the whole class etc. I wonder too if people want to hear my flops. I think that is not really why they read my blog, but I feel that my blog is not completely reflective of my teaching if I always post my successes.

  3. Oh my – was just putting together my thoughts in a blog post called “Regrets…I’ve Had a Few” or “True Confessions of a Language Teacher”. Thanks for sharing…it’s often during the ‘busts’ that we find our teaching gold!
    Colleen

  4. Thank you. I’m the only Spanish teacher at a small, rural Christian school, trying my best, but often feeling like a failure.

    1. I am so glad that you are here! I always love to collaborate with others, and I hope that my ideas help you. Trust me- I am far from perfect… even though I am a perfectionist!

  5. I think our habit is to definitely post lessons that have worked well for us in order for other teachers to re-create that lesson in their classrooms.
    For lessons that don’t go well, I think a lot of us do self reflecting and leave that out of our writing or have already come up with a better solution and write about that.
    But perhaps for those lessons that we can’t figure out maybe we should post those and have other people share their ideas on what to improve.

    1. I agree- that is why I blog. I want to show teachers what works for me, but then I recently thought… everyone must think I teach like this ALL THE TIME. That cannot be further from the truth! I think periodic posts that let other teachers know you are not alone if you have a bad lesson/week/day are valuable.

Leave a Reply

