Posted in noticias, Technology

LucidPress Instructions

Tomorrow, we have our first PLC meeting of the year!  I love my PLC (and I am not just writing this because I hope they will read it!) *Wave*  I always get really great ideas from them.  I am going to share how I create documents with LucidPress.  You could use this for class newsletters or students could use it themselves.  My Spanish 1B students are creating a magazine, and I hope that they use LucidPress to publish it at the end of the year.  I have been using it for my Noticias.  I feel that it makes it look much more legitimate.  Here is how to get started:

  1. My school emailed them to get a school account.  This has been great because it is free!Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 1.30.22 PM
  2. First, I click on “Create Document.”
  3. Then, I select my template.  I really like Newsletter 1.  It is towards the bottom of the list.  Then, you hit “create new.”
  4. On the next screen, you can name your document in the pop-up section.Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 1.33.36 PM
  5. Then, you see your template- ready to edit!
  6. You can click on items to delete, and you can do this through using your keyboard delete button.Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 1.35.49 PM
  7. In order to change text, you can click twice on the existing text box, so it is highlighted.  Once this happens, start typing.  At times, I have found that I will accidentally delete something, and it can be a pain to recover the same text and location of the original text box that you want to edit.Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 1.41.19 PM
  8. After this, it is pretty simple to edit.  Below the share button is a grey arrow which toggles the screen.  You can edit the text and alignment there.  (I am sure you can do other cool things, but I stick to the text and alignment).
  9. If you want to add a text box, image etc, you can do that under the “Insert” option in the menu on the top of the screen.  You can also insert a video which would be awesome.  (I haven’t tried this yet though.)
  10. Once you are done, you can publish it (and include it on your wall or Tweet about it).  You can also embed it into a website or blog.  You could also email it to people using the share button.  These are all in the upper right corner.

And that is how you create a newsletter using LucidPress!  I think overall it is pretty intuitive.  On the welcome screen, there are more tutorials if you want to be fancier than my basic instructions.

5 thoughts on “LucidPress Instructions

  1. I’m wondering if a school account is necessary or if it would just be easier to sign up yourself & have your students sign up too if they want to since it’s all free either way. Is there a benefit to having a school account versus individual accounts?

Leave a Reply

