Trending news topics in Spanish

Pierre-Yves Beaudoin. (2012 December 9) PSG-Juvisy, december 9th 2012. Shirely Cruz Traña.

Pierre-Yves Beaudoin. (2012 December 9) PSG-Juvisy, december 9th 2012. Shirely Cruz Traña.

I have another edition of my news topics in Spanish!  I am really excited to use these this year with my students.  I wrote more complex news articles in basic Spanish for students to read.  I know that this will incorporate more culture into my curriculum and current events.  I have also tried to include different countries each time.  It has been interesting for me as well to brush up on my current event knowledge.  I am also including reading activities with it.  This time, I am including a reading anticipation guide.  Students receive it first and write whether or not they think the statements are true or false.  Make sure to survey the group, too!  Then they read the articles.  After they write the answer based on what they read.  This version I included:

  • The mine collapse in Nicaragua
  • Shirley Cruz returning to her team in Paris
  • A Jewish group being expelled from their community in Guatemala
  • Is Sergio García really engaged?!

Also a HUGE shout out to my amazing colleague Stacey Roshan.  (She knows everything about technology there is to know!)  She helped me update my boring Word Document to a PDF via LucidPress.  On a side note, it was really easy to use, and students could use it to create their own newsletters.  I used the free version too!

reading anticipation guide september 2

Noticias 02-09

 

2 thoughts on “Trending news topics in Spanish

Leave a Reply

