Posted in Uncategorized

Adiós CM

Typically, I do not post a lot related to my actual school.  Partly because I like to keep the two separate, but also I feel that you probably don’t care too much about what happens in my particular school.  However, one of my favorite administrators is leaving this week.  This made me think about what makes a good administrator, and what I appreciated about him.

He was always encouraging of my efforts in the classroom.  If I were trying something new, he would want to hear about it.  He would ask what I was doing, and he would usually have suggestions about how to improve.

He always had constructive feedback.  During my observations, he would pose questions that I had not thought about.  This would help me immensely.  He was also willing to pop into classes where I had questions or difficulty.  I know that I am not perfect, and I know that my classes are not perfect.  I want something to improve upon.  I need an administrator who can tell it like it is and promise that everything is rainbows and butterflies.

He was reliable.  I knew that I could count on him to complete a task where I needed help.  With an increasingly busy schedule, I know that it can be easy to overlook certain tasks.  However, he was always available to help.

I respected his knowledge in education.  I read a lot, and I read a lot about education.  I really respect educators and administrators who do the same.  It is so important to continue professional development throughout your career.

He had a great rapport with students.  It can be frustrating to have an administrator who is never seen and doesn’t relate well to kids.  That is why we got into this business!  I know that we have all discovered that no matter how busy you are, you always need time to meet with students.

Finally, he reads my blog- haha!  In all honesty, I wish him the best.  I hope to have another administrator who fits these characteristics.  Adiós and best wishes!

2 thoughts on “Adiós CM

Leave a Reply

