Posted in Authentic resources, Listening

Commercials in Spanish

800px-M&Ms_(8065581663)

In last week’s #langchat on Twitter, we were discussing incorporating culture.  On a side conversation, we ended up discussing good websites for Spanish commercials.  I think it is important to remember that commercials are an easy way to show culture in class, and they are an authentic resource.  Here are some ideas:

1.  Here is William Levy on a M&M commercial.

2.  This channel has food commercials in Spanish.  (Jack-in-the-box makes me nostalgic for Southern California even though I never ate there when I lived there! Ha!)

3.  Kara Jacobs recommended this website for lots of commercials.

4.  I have found some more on Pinterest.  Here are some boards: Beth Bly, Cassey Buchmann, and Erin Berry-Lasceski.

To find more, Megan suggested to just search anuncio + the company name in Spanish in YouTube.  Finally, some teachers suggest starting class with videos.  I always start with a warm-up, and I really like my beginning class routine.  I decided to end with a commercial!  I can use these websites to find one quickly.

Finally- this week we are taking the National Spanish Exam.  Good luck to everyone who is taking it this week! (It’s the last week, so don’t forget!)

5 thoughts on “Commercials in Spanish

    1. Thanks! The Google Doc is awesome! I love how teachers are always so willing to share everything- it is quite amazing. My mom taught for 32 years as a reading teacher. I don’t know how she did it without being able to access all these incredible ideas all of the time.

    1. Awesome! It would be an interesting conversation. I know that I have read a lot of articles how in Mexico our eating habits in the US is having negative effects on their diets. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

