Posted in Favorites, Listening, Reading, Speaking, writing

Stations

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 8.53.58 AM

I always love doing stations, but it always seems time-consuming.  Or I can’t come up with more than three ideas, and I want a fourth.  This recent post from Kristy Placido made me want to use stations again!  All I really wanted was four stations: listening, speaking, writing and reading.  We are working on the past tense.  Here is how I set up my stations:

1.  Reading- I pulled out many of my children’s books in Spanish for them to go through.  They had to find sentences in the past tense and give a loose translation to English.  I really wanted them to focus on getting the gist not word for word translation.

2.  Listening- I used the Spanish listening activities from the University of Texas.  Students had to listen to them and summarize in English.  Again, I want them to get the idea not necessarily word for word.

3.  Writing-  I gave them the following writing ideas:

When I was seven years old…

would I rather climb a mountain or swim in the ocean?

chips or sweets?

soup or salad?

Sesame Street or Barney?

Hannah Montana or Wizards of Waverly Place?

did I dance or run?

Cats, dogs or fish?

4.  Speaking- This was by far my favorite.  I sat with each group of students and asked them questions about their childhood.  It was great and we shared some laughs!  One group remembered all of the Teletubbies names. 🙂  I really want to incorporate more of this into our classroom routines.  However, when I do this as a whole group, students end up bored not listening to others.  I am going to ask them each a question as I check their homework.  This way, we at least get one question in throughout the day.

When I do stations next time, I found this post about stations.  I would like to provide more options for my students.  It would be easy to do with writing (a graffiti wall) and listening (podcast or video).

10 thoughts on “Stations

  1. Timely! I’m doing stations next week. We only have school Monday and Tuesday, so it’ll be perfect (our classes are 85 minutes each). Here are my plans:

    1. spoons, to practice telling time
    2. cloze activity for song, using cool headphone splitter I just bought
    3. tweeting circle
    4. FVR
    5. conversation with me
    6. slap jack with structures we’ve learned this year so far

    1. This is a great list! All of my students have headphones and computers, but I keep forgetting to tell them to bring them. I saw Kristy mention the headphone splitter, and it looks great.

  2. I just wanted to say thank you for sharing your creative ideas and insights. I’m so glad I found your blog!

    Kristi Rohrer

    On Mon, Apr 7, 2014 at 7:18 AM, Maris Hawkins

  3. Students are working on stations right now! It’s going really well. I was able to use a small ipad cart so this is how it worked out:

    1. create quizlet account and compete against each other using sets I’ve created.
    2. create edmodo account, watch a song I uploaded and complete cloze activity.
    3. go onto edmodo and look at keynote I made of Semana Santa, then complete reading activity I bought from martina bex.
    4. play cucharas with time (they always need practice)
    5. magazine, kids book or book reading
    6. tuiting! I wrote the first line then they respond and circle around so they end up responding 8 times in a group of 4.

    20 minutes per group, it’s a little much.

    1. Great ideas! I love the tuiting idea! I always wonder about songs in station activities. I think there is something to be said about listening to a song as a group. Which way do your students prefer?

      1. Well, they all hated the song I chose, so…. The tweeting was the most favored station. The reading FVR was the least favorite. The whined a bit, but I think it was because it was so out of our normal activities. We are going 1:1 soon, so they’ll get more used to it all, I hope.

      2. Haha, I know what you mean. Many times I think they will love the song, and they do not. But most of the students end up repeating the chorus over and over… which is the point!

Leave a Reply

