Musings on retakes

Recently, I have been musing about retakes.  Typically, I do not do retakes because 90% of my students pass their tests.  Additionally, I always (ALWAYS) give study guides.  I feel that if I allow retakes students may not study the first time.  However, I have decided to rethink my policy… but I am not sure how to go forward.  I am pretty confident that I do not want to allow students to just do corrections.  What do you do?  How do you grade retakes?  Can students earn full credit?  When do students complete retakes?  They wouldn’t have time during class, but we only have one study hall a week.

5 thoughts on “Musings on retakes

  1. I allow students to take a different version of the test, and then I give them the average between their two tests. So if they get a 60% on the first one and an 80% on the second, their average is a 70%.

  2. I keep switching between the two. My biggest concern is when do students have a chance to retake the test? Do they stay after school? Since we only have study hall once a week, it is hard to use that time as well if students have to meet with another teacher or take a quiz or test that they have missed. Thanks for your input!

    • Retaking a test is a privilege as far as I’m concerned. If they want to be able to retake it, they make the time after school to retake it.

  3. As a new Spanish teacher this is something I have thought a lot about as well, and I’m not in love with the system I have.

    I allow students to only make up quizzes (below C-), then average their new score with the previous score. Learning a language involves making mistakes. So, my thinking was if a student bombs a quiz allow them to learn from those mistakes early on, and then they should be more confident when it is time to test.

    But you are so right, time is a huge issue! With only allowing quiz retakes, my students need less time to complete a quiz than a full test. Much easier to let them out in the hall or in the back of the room for a couple minutes vs. scheduling time outside of class.

Leave a Reply

