Posted in culture, Warm-up activity

The Olympics!

JO_Atlanta_1996_-_Drapeau

The Olympics are coming!  I realize that the Winter Olympics are not a big deal in Spanish-speaking countries.  In fact, it is difficult to find teams that are headed to Sochi from Latin America.  However, I am really excited to bring my love for the Olympics into my classes.  I am going to start with a schedule and questions.  This can be easily completed by beginning students.

¿Cuándo es el deporte de bobsleigh?

¿Cómo se llama “alpine skiing” en español?

¿Cuál deporte se juega el diecisiete y ventidós de febrero?

¿Cuándo es el deporte de curling?

¿Cómo se llama “speed skating” en español?

¿Cuál deporte se juega el trece y catorce de febrero?

After this, partners are going to choose a country to represent.  The countries are: Spain, Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Paraguay, Venezuela, and Peru.  Students will draw their country from a hat.  We are going to have competitions all week where they can compete for their country with the overall goal of winning gold, silver or bronze in the closing games.  Their first assignment for their country is to complete the following hand-out for homework.  I included a copy in Spanish and English depending on the level of your students.  You could probably even mix some of them.  Throughout the week, I will explain how I plan on incorporating these activities into my class.  I am excited to have my students participate!

Winter Olympics

4 thoughts on “The Olympics!

    1. Yes- I am going to play mini-games throughout the week. I want to start with a few based on the language. I am also going to create some to teach comparisons and superlatives. I am excited to start!

Leave a Reply

