Rescheduled field trip= Plan B

Yesterday we couldn’t go on our field trip because we had a two hour delay. Boo!  Not only that, but the students were not planning on having class.  We couldn’t exactly go on as usual.  The morning of the field trip, I had to come up with Plan B.  One of my favorite resources to use is Zachary Jones.  He always has great song activities or other activities, and he has so many, there are some that we haven’t covered yet.

The other day, I found this game on teachers.net.  It was the perfect game for the last 10-15 minutes of class.  It is called Pop Up.  Students are divided into two teams, and each student gets a number.  The students on different teams will have the same number.  I call a question, and then I state a number.  The student to stand up first and call out the answer correctly gets a point for their team.  If there is a tie, they play rock, paper, scissors to see who wins.  Everyone enjoyed it including me!  It was the perfect activity for today, and I will definitely use it in the future.  Thanks to the teacher who shared it!

4 thoughts on “Rescheduled field trip= Plan B

    • Awesome! I like the name that you use. I will have to use it next time. The game worked out so well because it was easy to play for 5 minutes or 15 minutes. Plus it was perfect for my smaller and larger classes.

  1. Hi Maris,

    I really enjoy the ideas you have on your blog. I’m also a big fan of Pinterest. I realize this is an incredibly silly and obnoxious request, but because Pinterest relies on pictures as the “pins”, I usually can’t pin things from your blog! Would you be able to add random pictures to your posts to make them more “Pin-able”? Or…maybe I just need to figure out how to pin without pictures. Ahhhh technology.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

