Trip to the National Gallery of Art: Part I

This week is our annual trip to the National Gallery of Art.  (One of the reasons why I love living by Washington, DC.)   As I have said before, I love art, and I love teaching students how to look at art on their own.  Typically, we have used tour guides, and students get a tour.  While I believe in the value of guides, many times it would depend on the success of the tour guide if we got a good tour.  Plus I wanted time for students to explore by themselves.  I read this project by the wonderful Lisa Lilley.  I decided to modify it for my students.  You could have students reflect in Spanish depending on their level.  I also tried to ask a lot of guiding questions that students could use for any pieces of art.  I used this website to help guide my questions.  I hope that this allows them to look at different art in the future. I will reflect on how this all works soon!

Art Project

PS: Now you can download 250 art books from the Getty Museum free!

3 thoughts on “Trip to the National Gallery of Art: Part I

  1. Hi Maris, Did I hear correctly that you are in the Tidewater VA area now? K

    Typos courtesy of my iPad Ken Howard 301-794-3290

    On Jan 28, 2014, at 6:24 AM, Maris Hawkins wrote:

    WordPress.com marishawkins posted: “This week is our annual trip to the National Gallery of Art. (One of the reasons why I love living by Washington, DC.) As I have said before, I love art, and I love teaching students how to look at art on their own. Typically, we have used tour guides”

    • Hello!

      I am still in Germantown! We have been trying to make it to church with John, but it is so hard with his schedule. Hopefully as he becomes more consistent, it will be easier for us.

  2. Pingback: Arte de NGA | Maris Hawkins

Leave a Reply

