Superbowl 2014

293497_10100192847793286_1466242536_n

I love football- as do most of my students!  If you didn’t know, the teams this year are the Seahawks and the Broncos.  (Although I normally root for the Bills because my husband grew up in the 90s when they were good, I am excited for the Seahawks.  Bruce Irvin has always been one of my favorite Mountaineers, and Russell Wilson is a fellow Virginian/his grandmother taught my mom!)  Why not use this excitement in class?  I love asking questions in Spanish for a warm-up activity.  Ask students a variety of questions in the target language.  You can make them as complex or simple as you want.  For level one, I typically ask them basic questions.  In levels two and higher, you can start asking them why they wrote that answer.  Here are some questions that I will ask my students:

1.  Which team do you think will win the Superbowl?

2.  Which team do you want to win the Superbowl?

3.  Who do you think will be the MVP?

4.  Which teams would be the best match-up in your opinion?

5.  Will you watch the Superbowl?

6.  If you could attend any major sports event, what would it be and why?

The other big news was the Richard Sherman interview.  Your students may or may not have heard about it. You can watch it here.  You could include a question about him… or just be prepared when students mention his name.

Using ESPN Deportes, they have a video summarizing the story, and you can go to their webpage and find many articles to use in class.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

