Coming back from leave

I recently came back from maternity leave.  I wanted to find out what my students had retained while I was gone.  When I have returned from being gone, students always love to tell stories about what happened.  Some say they learned everything, and some say they didn’t learn anything.  Instead of doing this, I gave pairs of students whiteboards and quizzed them on concepts.  They did well, and I could easily tell what I needed to review.  I let them work in pairs to take the pressure off of each student.  I always make students rotate the boards as well.  I assured them that if they did not remember something that we would review it later.  It was such an easy task… I was surprised it took me so long to figure it out!

3 thoughts on “Coming back from leave

  1. Welcome back! I’d say welcome back to “the land of the living,” but if your young un’s anything like mine, that may still be a year or so off!

    I like the idea of the low-stakes partner assessing–can you tell me more about how you set it up?

    • Thanks so much! I just gave every other student a whiteboard and came up with questions on the spot. It was easy to see what areas I needed to probe and other areas where I could just gloss over the topics. I felt like it gave me a good idea where to pick up, and the students weren’t that stressed. It seems like such a simple idea, I wasn’t sure why it took me so long to think of it…

  2. Pingback: Brillante Viernes: January 6, 2017 | Maris Hawkins

Leave a Reply

