Posted in beginning of the year, Project, sub plans, Technology

Beginning of the Year: More Emergency Sub Plans

Many times, I like my students to be creative with their vocabulary and use it in a conversation.  I decided to create a day long project that students could complete while you are present or with a substitute teacher.  I left the wording vague, so students could complete this using any vocabulary words that they had learned.  I also wrote the instructions in English, so any level student could complete this in any language.  I always hear about GoAnimate! during conferences, but I have not explored it.  I tried the free account today, and the tutorial is really easy!  It goes step-by-step.  Of course, you could change this and have students draw a comic strip or storyboard if you do not have access to technology.

goanimate

4 thoughts on “Beginning of the Year: More Emergency Sub Plans

  1. Thanks for sharing all of your ideas! I also teach middle school foreign language – Spanish and also ESL. I have used the GoAnimate site for two years (four semesters) total. I love the idea behind it. Unfortunately, between some glitchiness of the site and some of the filter issues with our district filters, each semester we have experienced a lot of problems. The last time, so many students were having problems and putting their hands up every two seconds to tell me their accounts were frozen or their animation had not saved correctly that I wanted to throw my own hands up in the air. And cry. Cry hard. I nearly just canceled the entire project last time and told the kids to forget about it. But I knew that wasn’t fair to the ones who had worked hard and who had not experienced any problems. So I just had to create an alternate assignment for the others.

  2. Thanks so much for the advice! I would definitely leave a blank comic strip for students to complete if they could not get the website to work. Luckily, we do not have too many problems with blocking, but that is definitely something to keep in mind. I feel like something will always work for me, but inevitably when students use it, something fails!

    Your website is awesome! Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

