Posted in beginning of the year

Beginning of the Year: Parent Night Idea

Once school starts, we get right into the swing of things with Parent Night.  I am sure many of you have similar nights.  The parents hear from administration then meet all of their child’s teachers for a few minutes.  While many teachers talk for the ten scheduled minutes, I like to have something more interactive.  I project a list of adjectives on the screen that are cognates. I include words like “brillante, cómico/a, curioso, organizado/a, and paciente.”  I tell parents to pick out adjectives that best describe their child, and I collect them.  Later in the year, I distribute them to my students.  The students love receiving them, and I love seeing the parents’ messages to their children.  It also breaks up the night from having parents listen to teachers go on and on about their classes.

5 thoughts on “Beginning of the Year: Parent Night Idea

Leave a Reply

