Posted in Brillante Viernes, No Prep Required

Brillante Viernes: August 2, 2013

It is August!!  I can’t believe it!  It is the last month of summer for me- but I know a lot of people are already starting back.  I hope that the beginning of the school year is going well for you.  I love the beginning of the school year because everything starts over again.  Here are some awesome ideas to get you started:

1.  I love this mistake game!  I frequently will have students correct sentences that I write, but this is more powerful because they write the mistakes.  I am looking forward to trying it.  Also, it is definitely a no prep activity which is even better!

2.  This is a great review activity.  It could also easily be scaffolded and enhanced for different levels of students.

3.  Printing rubrics on a label to put on papers is a great idea!  It would save a lot of time, and it would give great feedback.

4.  This is a great picture to describe a community.  I can’t find the original source, but I am so happy to find these pictures to have students describe.

Happy August!

3 thoughts on “Brillante Viernes: August 2, 2013

  1. Hi Maris, I absolutely love your site. You have inspired me to build my own class web page. Your ideas are awesome! Thank you.

    I have a question. Do you pay for the Quia and Quizlet subscriptions, or use the free version? I see that you embed those activities on your website. I’m wondering if that embedding feature requires you to pay for a subscription.

    By the way, I teach middle school Spanish in Northern California. My son is an Ensign living in Norfolk:)

    Thank you so much for the inspiration. I hope you don’t mind that I “steal” your ideas.

    Carol Kovatch

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Thank you so much!! I do not pay for Quia or Quizlet. I have a free account with Quizlet, but I typically find the existing flashcards for the book that we are using. This saves me time; however, if I change the words or give a new list, I do create my own list. With Quia, I use the online free activities. I hope that you find these activities useful, and I hope that your son enjoys Norfolk! I definitely miss it- and being close to the beach in the summer!

Leave a Reply

