Posted in Warm-up activity

Using manipulatives

photo

This year, I have tried to use more manipulatives in my class.  I always have a link to Quizlet with our vocabulary.  Quizlet (http://quizlet.com) is a wonderful website for students to practice their vocabulary, and many students find it beneficial.  I also found out that I could print out the vocabulary list as flashcards.

As a warm-up, I have students organize the vocabulary words into groups.  I will have them group them by verbs, people, places, things etc.  I have the students work in partners.  While this activity is not overly active, it allows some movement.  After we completed this once, I had a student ask to do this activity again.  It is the perfect warm-up activity while I check homework.

As a warning, I do like to cut the words by myself.  I am lucky to have small classes; however, you could ask the first period to cut the words.

4 thoughts on “Using manipulatives

  1. That’s a great idea for a warm-up, especially after introducing the vocabulary or right before a quiz. I will definitely have to give it a try 🙂

Leave a Reply

